The Folly Of Hate

As some of you may remember, I recently opted to take a bit of a sabbatical, from politics on social media. The sheer volume and frequency of the nasty and hateful comments directed at me and a host of people on ALL sides of several issues, finally just drove me away from the topic completely. But I haven’t been absent. I’m still around and commenting. Most importantly I’m listening, watching, and reading.

The word ‘folly’ is defined as ‘lack of good sense; foolishness.’ The term certainly seems to fit the hatred and vileness permeating social media and our world right now.

Everywhere I turn or look, I see and hear someone weighing in on the actions of others with hate speak. Whether it’s Caitlyn Jenner, Barack Obama, Same Sex marriage, Obamacare, The Charleston Massacre, or the recent Chattanooga shootings, it’s never about finding solutions, only about blame, and hating those we presume are guilty of some type of violation of the law, breach of a perceived moral code, ethics violations, or whatever your issue of the week. It seems that all we are concerned with is judging and hating others just because we don’t agree with them.

Worse still, the hatred of those people and issues goes nowhere. It’s a tremendous waste of time, and energy. I admit, I have been guilty of it too, and it’s not something I’m particularly proud of. (Presidential candidates not included here. All is fair in love and politics.) Who the hell am I–are we–to make moral judgments, just because we don’t agree with someone, or their particular choices. It’s fine to have an opinion, but it’s also still okay to just keep it to yourself occasionally–and before anyone leaps to conclusions–I mean ALL sides. If you think you’re being singled out here, then you may need to reexamine yourself.

I actually do my best to avoid the use of the word ‘hate’. It’s not attractive, and it’s a coward’s way out of actually staking out a position on an issue and defending it. Not to mention actually hating and defending that stance takes up far too much time, and never ends well. In fact, if anyone can tell me of a single episode when hate was triumphant and they were proud, I’ll be shocked, and appalled.

Here’s an idea. Next time you see or hear something that makes your blood boil. Take a few minutes. Think really hard about the effort it will take and the time commitment you will make just to hate something. I’m betting when you look at it from that angle, you may think twice.

Leave a Reply

